September 23, 2011

  • Mercies in Disguise

    The words of this song have been so much on my mind and in my heart as I have traveled a path this year back to my home country for now, leaving my two twenty-something children an ocean away.  A path that is uncertain and unknown to me and yet totally known to the God who daily is providing for me... 

    We pray for blessings, we pray for peace
    Comfort for family, protection while we sleep
    We pray for healing, for prosperity
    We pray for Your mighty hand to ease our suffering

    All the while You hear each spoken need
    Yet love is way too much to give us lesser things

    'Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
    What if Your healing comes through tears?
    What if a thousand sleepless nights
    Are what it takes to know You're near?

    What if trials of this life
    Are Your mercies in disguise?

    We pray for wisdom, Your voice to hear
    We cry in anger when we cannot feel You near
    We doubt Your goodness, we doubt Your love
    As if every promise from Your Word is not enough

    And all the while You hear each desperate plea
    And long that we'd have faith to believe

    'Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
    What if Your healing comes through tears?
    And what if a thousand sleepless nights
    Are what it takes to know You're near?

    And what if trials of this life
    Are Your mercies in disguise?

    When friends betray us, when darkness seems to win
    We know that pain reminds this heart
    That this is not, this is not our home
    It's not our home

    'Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
    What if Your healing comes through tears?
    And what if a thousand sleepless nights
    Are what it takes to know You're near?

    What if my greatest disappointments
    Or the aching of this life
    Is the revealing of a greater thirst
    This world can't satisfy?

    And what if trials of this life
    The rain, the storms, the hardest nights
    Are Your mercies in disguise?

    Surely I believe that although I can't see and don't understand right now,  it will all turn out for the greatest blessing in the end...for He is faithful who has promised.  I am believing and praying that the trials of this life truly are His mercies in disguise.

Comments (7)

  • as soon as i saw your post title, i had that song running thru my head.
    i know...
    so many of lifes trials and hard things....and, yet, i know He knows best...it's just life here this side of eternity in heaven.
    blessings to you as you miss those you are far from.

  • this song still makes me cry...maybe because i don't have see-through-disguises-glasses. only lil itty bitty faith today. and hindsight later, someday. revealing His hand through it all.

    grace to you for your steps today,
    on this journey that allowed miles between you and your children.

  • I was just thinking about you this week and wondering what you all decided or had to do.  Message me and let me know  how it all transpired.  Have been praying for you for the Lord to have his way, work out his plan for your family an give you a peace that passes all understanding.  Praying he will comfort you, sustain you and give you an overflowing of joy.  

  • Beautiful. I pray you are blessed in this move.

  • Praying for God's embrace to be with you in the midst of trial and trouble.....May you find His way and the power of His presence to be there and understand His plan as He sees fit and when there is no understanding......I pray for HIs peace to cover you and saturate your soul!

  • Found myself thinking about you this morning.  I don't remember the last time I was on Xanga, but I wandered back to see how you are and I find you are back to your home country now. So thankful that God gives us joy for the journey, even when we don't understand.  You've given me encouraging thoughts for my morning.  Thank you~ 

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment