October 17, 2011

  • Freedom Through Fire

    “I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me” (Galatians 2:20, ESV)

    Do we understand the meaning of the words “have been?”  It is something that has already happened, it is an accomplished fact, it has taken place. 

    We have given our hearts and lives to Christ, so why do we so often snatch it all back, hug it close, refuse to let go of them again? Can I really do a better job of my life on my own than He can do working in me?

    The phrase of the great preacher comes to mind, “I die daily.”

    Crucified with Christ?  Do I really get it so many centuries down the line in these modern times? 

    Christ chose to surrender His will to the will of God…to carry the weight of the sins of humanity….my sins…He died to self to rescue you and me.  I can’t help but get sidetracked pondering His sacrifice and the amazing grace poured out on us at the cross…..for you, for me.

    Crucified with Christ....actively choosing to surrender my will to the will of God, letting goof self and choosing to live in the freedom of the truth, dying to self and making space for Christ to live in me.

    Oh the deepest desire of my heart, to be surrendered to the Son of God who loved me and gave Himself for me….to know the joy of living by faith, of living in His presence,having Him live in me…and to no longer be flesh controlled. 



    Our Father, the lover of our souls, is answering and giving us the greatest gift and the desires of our hearts. 

    He leads us on difficult, winding rocky paths, sometimes through the storm and the fire, stripping everything away, yet right by our side, never leaving us for a moment,providing all we need to survive. 

    In our helplessness we truly begin to understand that it is not about us – it has never been and it will never be!  We are not in control, and that everything is by faith and for His glory.  He is the key to everything we need – we are complete in Him. 

    Until, when self is cut away, and we know the joy of living in Him and living by faith,  and we can truly say, “the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” 

    The trials of this life are His mercies in disguise.

     

Comments (5)

  • "that everything is by faith and for His glory" - AMEN!  We are to do everything as unto the Lord, allowing Christ to live through us which means cutting away of self :)  It is really freedom we experience when we get a revelation that it is not in and of ourselves that we live - it is by grace and faith.

  • that great preacher, with the help of the Holy Ghost, sure wrote for the ages.  Crucified with Christ is such a loaded phrase.  I'm so glad I've got His Word.

    Me?  ...still doing battle with the flesh, I'm afraid. 

  • Galatians 2:20 is one of my favorite verses! And thanks for your comment. God bless, ~ Pete

  • those last four paragraphs really hit home with me...
    so where i'm at right now.
    knowing that dying to self is the only way to true life..
    but dying isn't always easy. :)

    thanks for your encouragement here

  • Hi, I hope you had an awesome Christmas! ~ Pete

    "For unto us a Child is born, Unto us a Son is given; And the government will be upon His shoulder. And His name will be called Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace." Isaiah 9:6

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment